XS
SM
MD
LG
XL
  • Caste: The Lies that Divide Us

Caste: The Lies that Divide Us

  • Цена: 39.99 лв
    4.55 (277 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Автор:Isabel Wilkerson
    Година на издаване:2020
    Език: Английски
    Корица: Hardback
    Страници: 496

    Доставка

    може да е при вас
     до офис на еконт: 28.06.2024
     до краен адрес: 28.06.2024 - 30.06.2024

THE TIME NONFICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR

''Required reading for all of humanity'' - Oprah Winfrey

''It could not have come at a more urgent time'' - Fatima Bhutto, Guardian

''An instant American classic'' - Dwight Garner, The New York Times

''The hierarchy of caste is not about feelings or morality. It is about power - which groups have it and which do not''

Beyond race or class, our lives are defined by a powerful, unspoken system of divisions. In Caste, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Isabel Wilkerson gives an astounding portrait of this hidden phenomenon. Linking America, India and Nazi Germany, Wilkerson reveals how our world has been shaped by caste - and how its rigid, arbitrary hierarchies still divide us today.

With clear-sighted rigour, Wilkerson unearths the eight pillars that connect caste systems across civilizations, and demonstrates how our own era of intensifying conflict and upheaval has arisen as a consequence of caste. Weaving in stories of real people, she shows how its insidious undertow emerges every day; she documents its surprising health costs; and she explores its effects on culture and politics. Finally, Wilkerson points forward to the ways we can - and must - move beyond its artificial divisions, towards our common humanity.

Beautifully written and deeply original, Caste is an eye-opening examination of what lies beneath the surface of ordinary lives. No one can afford to ignore the moral clarity of its insights, or its urgent call for a freer, fairer world.

Допълнителна информация
Автор
  • Isabel Wilkerson
  • Поредица
  • Автор Isabel Wilkerson
    Година на издаване 2020
    Език Английски
    Корица Hardback
    Страници 496
    Размери 0.742kg (16cm x 24cm)
    Категория Книги /  Книги на английски език /  History  /  Politics & Sociology /  History & Politics / 
    Код: 0240.16264
    ISBN/Barcode: 9780241486511
    Производител: PENGUIN GROUP
    Напиши ревю
    Може да ви интересува
    The Holocaust : A New History
    THE SUNDAY TIMES TOP 10 BESTSELLER AND THE FIRST AUTHORITATIVE ACCOUNT FOR 30 YEARS.'By far the clea..
     4.64

    Цена: 24.99 лв

    Sapiens Graphic Novel: Volume 1
        The first volume of the graphic adaptation of Yuval Noah Harari's global p..
     4.40

    Цена: 42.99 лв

    The Sisters of Auschwitz
        Perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Cilka's Journey and The L..
     4.38

    Цена: 19.99 лв

    The Authority Gap
    Imagine living in a world in which you were routinely patronised by women.Imagine having your views ..
     4.44

    Цена: 34.99 лв

    Hidden Heritage
    A vital new perspective on British history from award-winning broadcaster Fatima Manji"This is such ..
     4.29

    Цена: 36.79 лв

    Наскоро разглеждани
    Всички цени в електронния магазин booktrading.bg са с включен ДДС и са валидни само при online покупка