XS
SM
MD
LG
XL
  • The Bedlam Stacks

The Bedlam Stacks

  • Цена: 25.90 лв
    4.01 (151 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Наличност: Изчерпано
  • Автор:Natasha Pulley
    Година на издаване:2017
    Език: Английски
    Корица: Paperback
    Страници: 352
From the internationally bestselling author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street comes an astonishing historical novel set in the magical forests of South America, perfect for fans of The Night Circus, The Essex Serpent and The Muse AN AMAZON BEST BOOK OF THE MONTH Deep in uncharted Peru, the holy town of Bedlam stands at the edge of a forest. The shrine statues move, and anyone who crosses the border dies. But somewhere inside are cinchona trees, whose bark yields quinine: the only known treatment for malaria. By 1859, on the other side of the Pacific, the hunt for a reliable source of quinine is critical and the India Office searches out its last qualified expeditionary, the injured Merrick Tremayne. Against his own better judgement, Merrick finds himself dispatched to Bedlam under orders to bring back cinchona cuttings at any cost. As Merrick travels into hostile territory, he meets Raphael, a priest around whom the villagers spin unsettlingly familiar stories of impossible disappearances and living stone. It is through him that Merrick finally discovers a legacy that will prove more dangerous and valuable than the India Office could ever have imagined.
Допълнителна информация
Автор
  • Natasha Pulley
  • Поредица
  • Автор Natasha Pulley
    Година на издаване 2017
    Език Английски
    Корица Paperback
    Страници 352
    Размери 0.525kg (24cm x 16cm)
    Категория Книги на английски език /  Fiction /  Contemporary Fiction /  Historical Fiction / 
    Код: 393.258
    ISBN/Barcode: 9781408878453
    Производител: BLOOMSBURY
    Напиши ревю
    Наскоро разглеждани
    Всички цени в електронния магазин booktrading.bg са с включен ДДС и са валидни само при online покупка